Weobley High – Child Development



Child Development is an optional subject at Key Stage 4 and it is taught for 2/3 lessons per week throughout years 10 and 11.

The specification consists of three main sections;

  • Unit 1. Written Paper
  • Unit 2. Research Task
  • Unit 3. Child Study

The subject content includes a varied range of topics such as;

  • Parenthood
  • Pregnancy
  • Diet, health and care of the child
  • Development of the child
  • Support for the parent and child

The Child Study

This is a very important part of the course and it accounts for 40% of the marks. It is the candidate’s responsibility to find a child to study that is under the age of five years. The candidate must be able to visit the child on five separate occasions over a six month period.

Career pathways

GCSE Child Development is a valuable course for those thinking of careers in nursing, midwifery, early years teaching, childcare etc.