Weobley High – Child Development


Subject Leader
Miss T. Ligema
OCR Cambridge National Level 1/2 in Child Development
This new Child Development specification is an optional subject at Key Stage 4 and it is taught for 2/3 lessons per week throughout years 10 and 11.
The specification consists of three main sections;

  • R018 Written Paper (50%)
  • R019 Teacher Assessed Unit: Understanding the equipment and nutritional needs of children from birth to five years (25%)
  • R020 Teacher Assessed Unit: Understanding the development of a child from birth to five years (CHILD STUDY 25%)

The subject content includes a varied range of topics such as;

  • Parenthood
  • Pre-conception health
  • Reproduction
  • Pregnancy
  • Diet, health and care of the child
  • Development of the child
  • Child safety

The Child Study
This is a very important part of the course. It is the candidate’s responsibility to find a child to study that is under the age of five years. The candidate must be able to visit the child on three separate occasions over a three month period.
Beyond KS4

  • Courses such as Health & Social Care and Childcare, Childcare and Education, Childcare Early years Educator
  • A levels such as Sociology, Biology, and Psychology
  • BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate/Diploma in Health and Social Care
  • Apprenticeships such as Early Years Childcare and Education, Health and Social Care
  • Careers in childcare, nursery nursing, general nursing, medicine, midwifery, teaching, nannying, social work, teaching assistant